OpenAI seems to be silently re-enabling model training on Codex chats (undefined)

26 points by user052919 an hour ago

My company is pretty paranoid about leaking IP to the frontier labs through prompts, so we've all been diligent about disabling data sharing in Codex/Claude Code/etc. But yesterday my coworkers and I noticed that the setting had been silently reenabled in Codex. None of us knowingly opted back in.

You can check your settings here: https://chatgpt.com/settings/data-controls. Look for "Improve the model for everyone".

Curious if this is an isolated issue or something more widespread.

EDIT: looks like this has been noted before https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=49643556

EDIT: apparently you can also turn off data sharing here: https://privacy.openai.com/policies?modal=take-control

bentt 2 minutes ago

Don't trust this company.

monster_truck 17 minutes ago

If your company actually cared about this they would be running their own inference instead of leaving fate to a couple of checkboxes.

rs999gti 8 minutes ago

Agreed. Azure, GCP, and AWS have gated models that only exist in their infrastructures and can't dial out unless yous give them permissions to do so.

Don't use a models only company if you need enterprise level security and data protection.

user052919 6 minutes ago

fair enough, but I still think it's an ethical issue for the model providers to silently reenable training after people have explicitly opted out

monster_truck a minute ago

It didn't happen to me, nobody I know seems to have experienced this. How can you prove to us that you ever toggled it off in the first place? This is a pretty serious accusation to make so blindly

edot 6 minutes ago

Turn on advanced account security. You should be doing this anyways (requires hardware keys). But it also locks data sharing off.

tom1337 a few seconds ago

Unfortunately, they are also changing that a bit:

> Thank you for using Daybreak Blue and for being part of our Trusted Access program. We are reaching out to notify you of an upcoming change to how your Daybreak Trusted Access data may be used. Daybreak use requires you to enroll in Advanced Account Security, which turns off the “improve the model for everyone” setting. However, from November 29, we may use content from Daybreak Blue sessions on personal accounts to improve our models, including to help strengthen safeguards against cyber misuse. We will use Daybreak Blue interactions for these purposes, even when the “improve the model for everyone” setting is off.

CEOatMindfries 16 minutes ago

May be the coding agents should build a layer when they don't leak any IP, treat them like environment variables, which must be handled deterministically.

spwa4 25 minutes ago

OpenAI is also now hiding your usage. Not accessible anymore in the menu, and /usage in the codex app now also gives a lot of stats, but the one stat you do want to know, how much limit left, is no longer there.

I'm guessing another big usage reduction is coming soon.

pizza234 16 minutes ago

> Not accessible anymore in the menu, and /usage in the codex app now also gives a lot of stats

Codex shows the usage limits on /status - Claude instead does it on /usage.

user052919 8 minutes ago

fwiw I can still see my usage in the Codex app